Ed McCurdy - Folk Songs

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Squid Jiggin Ground
Written-By [Uncredited] – Arthur R. Scammell*
A2 John Hardy
Written-By [Uncredited] – Traditional
A3 Jack Was Every Inch A Sailor
Written-By [Uncredited] – Traditional
A4 The Old Chisholm Trail
Written-By [Uncredited] – Traditional
A5 Lukey's Boat
Written-By [Uncredited] – Helen Creighton
B1 Sally Brown
Written-By [Uncredited] – Traditional
B2 Careless Love
Written-By [Uncredited] – Traditional
B3 Black Is The Color
Written-By [Uncredited] – Traditional
B4 Back Bay Hill
Written-By [Uncredited] – Traditional
B5 Red River Valley
Written-By [Uncredited] – Traditional

Companies, etc.

  • Recorded At – Bell Sound Studios
  • Mastered At – Audio Matrix, Inc.
  • Manufactured By – Premier Albums, Inc.


  • Engineer, Supervised By – Preston Ford
  • Performer – Ed McCurdy, Rex Trailer


Red label variant from this U.S. copy.

Audiotape Mastertape Type 2551 M is utilized throughout all phases of recording, on AMPEX 350-2 and 300-3 magnetic tape recorders affording a frequency response of 20 to 20,000 cycles per second.

Original master discs are cut with a modified Westrex 3-c cutter on a Scully Lathe using a special amplification system.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (A Side Etch, except Audio Matrix stamp): CXS 168 A AudioMatrix 7/9/62
  • Matrix / Runout (B Side Etch, except Audio Matrix stamp): CXS 168 B AudioMatrix 7/11/62

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
CX-168 Ed McCurdy, Rex Trailer Ed McCurdy, Rex Trailer - Folk Songs ‎(LP, Album, Mono) Coronet Records CX-168 US Unknown
CXS 168 Ed McCurdy Folk Songs ‎(LP) Coronet Records CXS 168 US 1960